Vision India @2047 Conclave

Vision India 2047 was a unique conclave that brought science leaders of the country together to create an S&T roadmap for the next 25 years. As a part of Azadi ka Amrut Mahotsav, the two-day conclave was organised by the Ministry of Science and Technology, Government of India, and Vijnana Bharati, at the CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology, Hyderabad, on March 26 & 27, 2022.

The event witnessed participation from about 160 directors of various government research organisations who deliberated on a road map towards an Atmanirbhar Bharat 2047. Dr V K Saraswat Member Niti Aayog, Dr Shekhar C Mande DG CSIR, Dr Rajesh S Gokhale Secretary DBT, Dr G Sateesh Reddy, Secretary Department of Defence and Chairman DRDO, Dr T Mohapatra Secretary Department of Agricultural Research and Education & DG ICAR, Dr S. Chandrasekhar Secretary DST, Dr U Rajababu, Director of RCI, Dr Saroj Barik, Director of CSIR-National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI), Lucknow, Dr VM Tiwari, Director CSIR-IICT and CSIR-NGRI, Dr Vinay Nandicoori, Director CSIR-CCMB, Sri Jayant Sahasrabudhe National Organising Secretary, Vijnana Bharati, and directors from DBT, ICMR, CSIR, ICAR, DRDO and other government research institutions attended the conclave.

The programme began with prayer and lighting of the lamp by Dr Shekhar C Mande, Dr Rajesh S Gokhale, Dr S. Chandrasekhar, Dr U Rajababu, Dr VM Tiwari and Sri Jayant Sahasrabudhe. The programme commenced with Sri Jayant Sahasrabudhe’s talk on “Contributions of scientists to freedom movement’. In the afternoon session, the Secretaries of DBT, DRDO and DST presented the achievements in their respective fields since Independence.
Deliberations were held on five themes - Climate Change, One Health, Energy Security, S&T for meeting Sustainable Development Goals, and Applications of AI for Water, Agriculture and Environment Management. The leaders discussed opportunities and challenges under these categories to map a 25-year vision for the country.

The Directors were divided into five groups depending on their thematic expertise. Climate impact, mitigation, reducing greenhouse gases, cost-effective carbon capture technologies, chalking out a path to integrate multiple facets of health, animals, environment and food into a common system, innovation-driven energy technologies, S&T for developmental goals that includes water, sanitation, industry, innovation, infrastructure, sustainable cities, AI to increase farm productivity, optimise utilisation of water and wastewater operations, map consumption patterns, and forecast water demand were a few areas that were discussed.

On the second day of the conclave, coordinators of the five themes presented their deliberations to Dr V K Saraswat. The leaders believed there is a need to work across disciplines, ministries, have transparent data, and participation of society including capacity building to achieve the road map they envisioned for the next 25 years.

The conclave concluded with a valedictory session that was graced by Shri Kishan Reddy, Hon’ble Union Minister For Culture, Tourism And Development Of North Eastern Region (DoNER), Government of India. Three sister CSIR labs, IICT, CCMB, NGRI, co-hosted the two-day event. Dr Saroj Barik was the convenor, while Dr VM Tiwari, Dr Vinay Nandicoori and Dr Ruchir Gupta, Vijnana Bharati, were the organisers for the two-day event.

Chandrasekharam Malapaka and Ambica Vankamamidi
CSIR-Indian Institute of Chemical Technology