PRESS RELEASE

2006 SHANTI SWARUP BHATNAGAR PRIZES DECLARED

New Delhi, 30th August 2006, Thirteen scientists have been selected for 2006 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar (SSB) Prize for Science and Technology.

The SSB Prizes for 2006 will be given away by the Hon'ble Prime Minister of India shortly.

The SSB Prize winners for 2006 are:

Biological Sciences

Dr. Vinod Bhakuni, Central Drug Research Institute, Lucknow

Dr. Rajesh Sudhir Gokhale, National Institute of Immunology, New Delhi

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences

Dr. Gufran-ullah Beig, Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology, Pune

Dr. Pulak Sengupta, Jadavpur University, Kolkata

Physical Sciences

Dr. Atish Dabholkar, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

Dr. Sanjay Puri, Jawahar Lal Nehru University, New Delhi

Medical Sciences

Dr. Virender Singh Sangwan, L V Prasad Eye Institute, Hyderabad

Chemical Sciences

Dr. Srinivasan Sampath, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Dr. K George Thomas, Regional Research Laboratory, Thiruvananthapuram

Engineering Sciences

Dr. Ashish Lele, National Chemical Laboratory, Pune

Dr. Sanjay Mittal, Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur

Mathematical Sciences

Dr. Vikraman Balaji, Chennai Mathematical Institute, Siruseri

Dr. Indranil Biswas, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai

The SSB Prizes are given to scientists for their outstanding scientific contributions made primarily in India during the last five years preceding the year of the Prize. Those who are not more than 45 years of age, as reckoned on 31 December of the year preceding the year of the Prize, are eligible. The SSB Prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash award of Rs. 2,00,000.

(Daljit S Bedi)