COUNCIL OF SCIENTIFIC & INDUSTRIAL RESEARCH RAFI MARG, NEW DELHI 110 001 Phone No.:2371 5241

PRESS RELEASE

SHANTI SWARUP BHATNAGAR AWARDS

New Delhi, 26 September 2007

Eleven scientists have been selected for 2007 Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for science and technology. Their names discipline-wise are as under:

Biological Sciences

- 1. Dr Upinder Singh Bhalla, National Centre for Biological Sciences, Bangalore
- 2. Dr Narayanaswamy Srinivasan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Chemical Sciences

- 1. Dr Amalendu Chandra, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
- 2. Dr A Ajayaghosh, National Institute for Interdisciplinary Science and Technolgy [NIST], (Formerly RRL) Thiruvanathapuram

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean & Planetary Sciences

1. Dr Anil Bhardwaj, Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre, Thiruvanathapuram

Engineering Sciences

- 1. Dr Rama Govindarajan, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore
- 2. Dr Budaraju Srinivasa Murty, Indian Institute of Technology Madras, Chennai

Mathematical Sciences

1. Dr B V Rajarama Bhat, Indian Statistical Institute, Bangalore

Medical Sciences

1. Dr Pundi Narasimhan Rangarajan, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore

Physical Sciences

- 1. Dr Yashwant Gupta, National Centre for Radio Astrophysics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Pune
- 2. Dr Pinaki Majumdar, Harish-Chandra Research Institute, Allahabad

The Bhatnagar Prizes are given to scientists for their outstanding scientific contributions made primarily in India during the last 5 years preceding the year of the Prize. Those who are not more than 45 years of age, as reckoned on 31st December of the year preceding the year of the Prize, are eligible. The SSB Prize comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash award of Rs.2,00,000/-(Rupees two lakh only).

The SSB Awards are given to the recipients by the Hon'ble Prime Minister of India.