CSIR-NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR INTERDISCIPLINARY SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY THIRUVANANTHAPURAM-19

No. NIIST/COA/1/2021

Date: 26th March, 2021

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

The Director, CSIR-NIIST, Thiruvananthapuram has been pleased to constitute the Standing Publications, Ethics and Scientific Vigilance Committee (SEC) comprising the following members with immediate effect :

1. Dr. S. Savithri, Chief Scientist	-	Chairperson
2. Dr. T.P.D. Rajan, Sr. Principal Scientist	\overline{a}	Member
3. Dr. Madhavan Nampoothiri, Sr. Principal Sct.	-	Member
4. Dr. C.H. Suresh, Sr. Principal Scientist	-	Member
5. Dr. P. Nisha, Principal Scientist	-	Member
6. Dr. Riju Davis, Principal Scientist	-	Convener
7. Dr. B. S. Sasidhar, Sr. Scientist	-	Member
8. Mr. L.R. Rahul, Sr. Tech. Officer(1)	-	Member
9. Sr.COA/COA/AO	-	Member
10. Mr.Adersh S. Pillai, DST Inspire, MSTD	-	Students Reptve.(Boys)
11. Ms. Alisa Valsan C., SRF-CSIR, CSTD	- "	Students Reptve.(Girls)

The Terms of Reference (TOR) of the committee would be as follows:

- i. The Committee shall regularly conduct seminars in Good Laboratory Practices and publications;
- ii. shall make mandatory implementation of communication numbers at the time of publications after obtaining approval from competent authority;
- iii. shall check Similarity index and Plagiarism of all publications;
- iv. shall ensure that the scientific audit of each publication is done;
- v. shall advice and guide the Director on all matters pertaining to misconduct in scientific practices and research ethics;
- vi. shall respond to any external parties (on behalf of CSIR) for compliance with ethical standards in respect of research projects undertaken by staff;

Contd...2.

- vii. on an entirely voluntary basis, researchers may seek the inputs of this Committee for consultation on ethical aspects of their research;
- viii. shall work on any other matter as assigned by the Director.

The tenure of the Committee will be for a period of two years effective from the date of issue of this O.M.

Sr. Controller of Administration

To : The Chairperson & Members

Copy to:

- 1. All HoDs/Divisional Heads 2. PA to Director
- 3. Notice Boards
- 4. Head, IT for Intranet

CSIR-NATIONAL INSTITUTE FOR INTERDISCIPLINARY SCIENCE 85 TECHNOLOGY THIRUVANANTHAPURAM- 19

No. NIIST/COA/1/2021

OFFICE MEMORANDUM

Sub: Constitution of Scientific Investigation Board (SIB)

Ref: CSIR OM No 30/GB/2019-MD dated 28.02.2020

In pursuance of CSIR OM referred to above, The Director, CSIR-NIIST has been pleased to constitute a Scientific Investigation Board (SIB) consisting of the following members.

SI No	Name & Designation	Capacity
1	Dr. Ananthakumar.S, Chief Scientist	Chairman
2	Dr. Madhavan Nampoothiri.K, Sr. Pri. Scientist	Member
3	Dr. Chandrakanth, C.K, Sr. principal Scientist	Member
4	Dr. Nisha.P, Principal Scientist	Member
5	Prof. Santanu Bhattacharya, Distinguished Professor, IISC,Bangalore	External Member
6	Dr. Riju Davis, Principal Scientist.	Convenor

The terms of reference:

- 1. The SIB shall investigate all the scientific misconducts as and when it is reported and find facts and make recommendation for punitive action. However, anonymous complaints shall not be entertained.
- 2. The SIB shall do its own due diligence including interaction with concerned scientific and technical staff, examine the relevant records and recommend suitable punitive action commensurate with the offence committed. After completion of investigation, the SIB shall submit the report to Director, CSIR-NIIST for appropriate action.

09.08.2022

- 3. While conducting investigation, It shall observe the Standard Operating Procedure (SOP) for dealing with scientific misconduct as indicated in the Appendix B(2) of the OM referred to above.
- 4. The levels of misconduct and suggested advice on action to be taken shall be as per the Appendix B(3) of the OM referred to above.

The tenure of the committee shall be 2 years from the date of issue of this OM.

[Antony Peter Raja.S]

Administrative Officer.

Chairman and All Committee members

Copy to

- 1. PPS to Director, CSIR-NIIST.
- 2. All heads of Department / Section.
- 3. All staff of the Institute.
 - via Intranet.
- 4. All Research Scholars / Project Staff Via Intranet
- 5. All notice boards.
- 6. Office Copy