## **CSIR Young Scientist Awards 2005**

## CSIR YOUNG SCIENTIST AWARDS 2005

The CSIR Young Scientist Awards introduced in 1987, are given annually in the fields of Biological, Chemical, Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary, Engineering and Physical (including Instrumentation) Sciences. The Award comprises a citation, a plaque and a cash prize of Rs.50,000. AWARDEES

Chemical Sciences: Dr Anup Kumar Misra, Central Drug Research Institute (CDRI), Lucknow for his important contributions in the area of synthetic carbohydrate chemistry particularly towards synthesis of polysaccharides.

Engineering Sciences: Dr Guruswamy Kumaraswamy, National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune for his significant contributions towards understanding the role of non-crystalline co-monomer "defects" in the crystallization of ethylene co-polymers.

Earth, Atmosphere, Ocean and Planetary Sciences: Dr Mangesh Uttam Gauns, National Institute of Oceanography (NIO), Goa, for his significant contributions to the study of microzooplankton in the Arabian Sea, and for identifying the existence of a 'microbial loop', which has provided new insights into the biogeochemistry of a part of the Arabian Sea.

No awards were given in the fields of Biological and Physical Sciences this year.

## **CSIR TECHNOLOGY AWARDS 2005**

With a view to foster and encourage in-house multidisciplinary team efforts and external interaction for technology development, transfer, marketing and commercialization, CSIR has instituted two sets of Technology Awards.

**CSIR Shields for Technology** 

One CSIR shield each for Process and Engineering Technology, awarded for major multidisciplinary technological contributions in a broad area that have a sustained and visible economic, industrial or societal impact. The Award comprises a prestigious rolling shield, a citation, a plaque and a sizeable grant for a specific project to the awardees.

No awards in this category are being given this year.

CSIR Technology Prizes

One CSIR Technology Prize each in four technology areas, namely, Biological, Chemical, Engineering, and Materials awarded to individual(s) or groups of personnel from CSIR and contributors external to CSIR for a specific and outstanding technological achievement.

Each Technology Prize comprises a cash award of Rs. Two lakh. A fifth CSIR Technology Prize for Business Development and Technology Marketing of Rs. One lakh is awarded for making significant contributions to enhancing business for CSIR knowledgebase.

## **AWARDEES**

The Prize for Biological Sciences is awarded to the team at National Botanical Research Institute (NBRI), Lucknow comprising Dr Rakesh Tuli, Dr Samir V. Sawant, Dr P K Singh, Shri Mithilesh Kumar and Shri C. P. Chaturvedi for the development of artificial promoters, novel d -endotoxin coding genes and indigenous transgenic to cotton lines for resistance to insect pests.

The Prize for Chemical Technology is awarded jointly to the teams at Indian Institute of Chemical Technology (IICT), Hyderabad and National Chemical Laboratory (NCL), Pune, comprising Dr R. B. N. Prasad, Shri S. K. Roy, Dr B. V. S.K. Rao, Dr P. P. Chakrabarti, Dr Vijay Kale, Dr B.L.A Prabhavati and Smt.K. N.Prasanna Rani, IICT, Hyderabad and Shri Prashant P. Barve, Shri Shrikant Ghike, Shri Milind Y. Gupte, Shri Ravindra W. Shinde, Shri R. V. Naik, Dr J. G. Wadkar, Dr S. Devotta, Dr (Smt) Bote, Dr R.A. Kulkarni, NCL, Pune, for enzymatic degumming of rice bran oil (50 tpd capacity) and development of a complete porocess technology for manufacture of 2-acrylamido-2-methyl-1-propane sulfonic acid (ATBS), respectively.

The Prize for Engineering Technology is awarded to the team at National Aerospace Laboratories (NAL), Bangalore comprising Shri M. Subba Rao, Shri H.N. Sudheendra, Dr R. Sundaram, Shri P. Ravi Kumar, Shri M.N. Neelakante Gowda, Shri Kotresh M. Gaddikeri, Shri R.S. Rawat, Shri M. Govindan Kutty and Advanced Composite Division for the development of advanced composite technologies for aerospace applications.

No awards were given in the category of Materials and Business Development & Technology Marketing this year.